You are here

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Email
  • Whatsapp
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • Pakistan Occupied Kashmir: Politics, Parties and Personalities

    Pentagon Press
    ISBN: 978-93-86618-67-2
    Price: ₹.1495/-
    Purchase Download E-copy

    About the Authors

    1.‘AJK’ and Pakistan: A Relationship of Disenchantment

    Politics of ‘AJK’: The Early Phase
    The 1970s7Interim Constitution Act, 1974
    Government and Politics in ‘AJK’: Post-1974
    Politics of Representation14Economy and Hydro-Energy
    Dissenting Voices

    2.Political Parties in ‘AJK’

    All-Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference (AJKMC)
    Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF)
    Jammu and Kashmir Liberation League (JKLL)
    Jammu and Kashmir People’s Muslim League (JKPML)
    United Kashmir People’s National Party (UKPNP)
    Jammu and Kashmir National Awami Party (JKNAP)
    All-Parties National Alliance (APNA)66AJK Pakistan People’s Party (AJKPPP)
    AJK Pakistan People’s Party Shaheed Bhutto (AJKPPPSB)
    AJK Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (AJKPML-N)
    AJK Muttahida Quami Movement (AJKMQM)84Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI)
    Jamaat-e-Islami AJK (JIAJK)98Kashmir Voice International (KVI)

    3. Gilgit-Baltistan: A Historical Perspective

    Area and Population
    Demography and Religion
    Economic Conditions
    Karakoram Highway
    Tourism Industry
    Political History
    Political Structure of GBESGO
    November 2009 Elections after the Promulgation of GBESGO
    Legislative Assembly Elections June 2015
    Reactions to GBESGO, 2009
    India’s Response136Political Developments
    Local Government Act 2014
    Sectarianism in Gilgit-Baltistan
    The Diamer Bhasha Dam
    Land Scam
    Threat to Buddhist Heritage

    4. Political Parties in Gilgit-Baltistan

    Pakistan People’s Party Gilgit-Baltistan (PPP-GB)
    Pakistan People’s Party Shaheed Bhutto
    Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz-GB (PMLN-GB)
    Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-i-Azam-GB (PMLQ-GB)
    All-Pakistan Muslim League-GB (APML-GB)
    Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf-GB (PTI-GB)
    Islami Tehreek Pakistan (ITP)
    Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazlur Rehman-GB (JUIF-GB)
    Jamaat-e-Islami-GB (JI-GB)165Muttahida Quami Movement-GB (MQM-GB)
    Majlis-e-Wahadat Muslimeen Gilgit Baltistan (MWM-GB)
    Tanzeem Ahl-e-Sunnat Wal Jamaat (TASWJ)

  • Nationalist/Pressure Groups
  • Balawaristan National Front (BNF)
    Balawaristan Students’ National Organisation (BSNO)
    Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF)
    Karakorum National Movement (KNM)
    Gilgit-Baltistan Democratic Alliance (GBDA)
    Gilgit-Baltistan United Movement (GBUM)
    Gilgit-Baltistan United Alliance (GBUA
    Gilgit-Baltistan National Alliance (GBNA)
    Awami Workers Party (AWP)
    Gilgit-Baltistan National Movement (GBNM)
    Gilgit-Baltistan National Congress (GBNC)
    0Gilgit-Baltistan Thinker’s Forum (GBTF)181Gilgit-Baltistan Bar Council (GBBC)182Gharib Qaumi Movement (GQM)

    5.Demand for Provincial Status in Gilgit-Baltistan: Dilemmas ofthe Pakistan State

    Earlier debates on inclusion of ‘AJK’
    The demand for representation in G-B
    Self-Governance Act of 2009
    The Debate (2009-2017)
    GB Reforms Order 2018

    6. China-Pakistan Economic Corridor and Gilgit-Baltistan
    CPEC and Kashmir Issue

    7. Profiles of Prominent Leaders of ‘AJK’ and Gilgit-Baltistan
    (A)Prominent Leaders of ‘AJK’211
    (B)Prominent Leaders of Gilgit-Baltistan
    (C)Some other Leaders and the current Cabinet of Gilgit-Baltistan

    Chronology of Developments in PoK with Special Focus on Gilgit-Baltistan Since July 1947

    I.The Boundary Agreement Between China and Pakistan, 1963
    II.Karachi Agreement
    III.Simla Agreement, July 2, 1972263IV.‘AJK’ Interim Constitution (Thirteenth Amendment) Act, 2018
    V.List of Political Parties in ‘AJK’ and Names of the Party Heads and General Secretaries
    VI.Presidents/Prime Ministers of ‘AJK’
    VII.Members ‘AJK’ Legislative Assembly 2016
    VIII.The Northern Areas Council Legal Frame Work Order, 1994(With Amendments)
    IX.Gilgit-Baltistan (Empowerment and Self-Governance) Order, 2009
    X.Balawaristan National Front
    XI.Registered Political Parties of Gilgit-Baltistan with Election Symbols
    XII.Electoral Rolls of Gilgit-Baltistan Election 2015
    XIII.Members of Gilgit-Baltistan Assembly
    XIV. Letters Exchanged Between Yasin Malik and Nawaz Sharif
    XV. Pakistan Supreme Court Order on Gilgit Baltistan on January 17, 2019




    Order Hard Copy

    Please email us at adps.idsa [at] or call +91-11-2671 7983 (Ext. 7303)