





## वर्युंधेव कुटुम्बकम् ONE EARTH • ONE FAMILY • ONE FUTURE

## 14 TH SOUTH ASIA CONFERENCE ON THINK20@G20: TOWARDS A RESILIENT SOUTH ASIA 17-18 JANUARY 2023

#### **PROGRAMME**

Day One: Tuesday, 17 January 2023

0930-1000: Registration

1000-1100: Inaugural Session

Welcome Address by Amb Sujan R. Chinoy, T20 Chair of G20 India and

Director General, MP-IDSA

Inaugural Address by Mr Amitabh Kant, Sherpa, G20 India

1100-1115: Tea

1115-1230: Working Session - I: Introducing T20 and G20

Chair: Amb Sujan R. Chinov, Director General, MP-IDSA & T20 Chair

Speakers: Amb Rajiv Bhatia, Distinguished Fellow, Gateway House

Dr Sandhya Purecha, Chair W20

Mr Abhay Thakur, Additional Secretary & Sous-Sherpa G20

Prof Harsh V. Pant, ORF, Co-Chair of T20 Task Force 7 'Towards Reformed

Multilaterlism'

Mr Rohan Jaitley, Member of Core Group of T20

Ms Sunaina Kumar, ORF, Executive Director, T20 Secretariat India

1230-1300: Ambassadors' Interaction on G20

Chair: Amb Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, MP-IDSA & T20 Chair

1300-1345: Lunch

1345-1415: Special Lecture by Mr Tetsushi Sonobe, Dean & CEO, ADBI and Chair Think7 on

"T7 Outlook of Japan on G20 Process"

Chair: Amb Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, MP-IDSA & T20 Chair

1415-1530: Working Session - II: Country Perspectives on Climate, Economic, Gender & Energy

Concerns

Chair: Prof Mahendra P. Lama, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Speakers: Dr Sharmind Neelormi, Professor, Department of Economics, Jahangir University,

Bangladesh

Mr Dil Bahadur Rahut, Senior Research Fellow, ADBI

Mr Anushka Wijesinha, Co-founder, Centre for Smart Future, Colombo

Dr Zaw Naing, Managing Director, Mandalay Technology, Myanmar

## 1530-1645: Working Session - III: Country Perspectives on Climate, Economic, Gender & Energy

Concerns

Chair: Dr Uttam Sinha, MP-IDSA, Co-Chair of T20 Task Force 6 on 'Accelerating SDGs'

Speakers: Dr Ajaya Dikshit, PRI, Nepal, adviser, Institute for Social and Environmental

Transition & Policy Research Institute

Ms Ngu Wah Win, Research Fellow, Knowledge Circle Foundation, Myanmar

Dr Ramani Gunatilaka, Independent Consultant, Sri Lanka

Ms Aishath Shina, Acting Director of Local & International Relations, Islamic University

of Maldives

1645-1700: Tea

1700-1745: Keynote Address by Amb Harsh Vardhan Shringla, Chief Coordinator for

India's G20 Presidency in 2023

Chair: Amb Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, MP-IDSA & T20 Chair

### Day Two: Wednesday, 18 January 2023

1000-1030: Special Session

Chair: Amb Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, MP-IDSA & T20 Chair

Address by Amb Vijay K. Nambiar, Principal Coordinator, C20, India's G20

Presidency

# 1030-1200: Working Session - IV: Energy Transition, Climate Adaptability, Agricultural Produce, Water Resource and Disaster Management

Chair: Dr P. K. Anand, Visiting Fellow, RIS

Speakers: Mr Bharat Lal, Director General, National Centre for Good Governance, India

Mr Dinanath Bhandari, Technical Advisor, DPNet, Nepal

**Prof G M Tarekul Islam**, Professor, Institute of Water and Flood Management,

BUET, Bangladesh

Dr Maneesha Ramesh, UNESCO Chair on Experiential Learning for Sustainable

Innovation and Development, India

Mr Krishna S. Vatsa, Member, NDMA, India

Ms Sonam Choden, Regional Technical Expert for Asia, Scientific and Technical Review

Panel (2023-2025) of the Ramsar Convention

#### 1200-1330: Working Session - V: Boosting Resilience and Regional Growth

Chair: Dr Nisha Taneja, ICRIER, Co-Chair of T20 Task Force 7 'Towards Reformed

Multilaterlism'

Speakers: **Dr Ganeshan Wignaraja**, Senior Research Associate, ODI Global, London

Prof S. K. Mohanty, RIS, Co-Chair of T20 Task Force 1 'Macroeconomics, Trade, and

Livelihoods'

Dr Shankar P. Sharma, Economist & Ambassador of Nepal to India

Mr Zaw Oo, Executive Director, Centre for Economic and Social Development,

Myanmar

Dr Mahfuz Kabir, Research Director, BIISS, Dhaka

1330-1415: Lunch

1415-1600: Final Session: Looking Ahead

Chair: Amb Muktesh K. Pardeshi, Officer on Special Duty G20 Secretariat, India

Speakers: Ms Eenam Gambhir, Joint Secretary, G20 Secretariat, India

Dr Sharmind Neelormi, Professor, Department of Economics, Jahangir University,

Bangladesh

Maj Gen Moosa Ali Jaleel (Retd), Former Defence Minister and Former CDF, Maldives

Mr Sunil KC, AIDIA, Nepal

Amb Bernard Goonetilleke, Chairman, Pathfinder Foundation, Colombo

Dr Zaw Naing, Managing Director, Mandalay Technology, Myanmar

**Vote of Thanks: Conference Coordinator**